5 New Book Releases to Read this Winter

I always love reading book reviews and knowing what new books are being released.

HarperCollins recently sent me a selection of new books being released in January and February.

We were on a Break by Lindsey Kelk

Release Date: 01/03/2017

This funny read is the perfect book to read by the pool on your winter holiday.

Synopsis:

Is it a break? Or is it a blip?

‘You’ve just had a holiday,’ I pointed out, trying not to yawn. ‘Wasn’t that enough of a break?’
‘I don’t mean that kind of break.’

There’s nothing worse than the last day of holiday. Oh wait, there is. When what should have been a proposal turns into a break, Liv and Adam find themselves on opposite sides of the life they had mapped out.

Friends and family all think they’re crazy; Liv throws herself into work – animals are so much simpler than humans – and Adam tries to get himself out of the hole he’s dug.

But as the short break becomes a chasm, can they find a way back to each other? Most importantly, do they want to?

new winter book releases HarperCollins

The Spider and the Fly by Claudia Rowe

Release Date: 01/24/2017

This new true crime release is extremely suspenseful. The Spider and the Fly is a real page turner.

Synopsis: 

n September 1998, young reporter Claudia Rowe was working as a stringer for the New York Times in Poughkeepsie, New York, when local police discovered the bodies of eight women stashed in the attic and basement of the small colonial home that Kendall Francois, a painfully polite twenty-seven-year-old community college student, shared with his parents and sister.

Growing up amid the safe, bourgeois affluence of New York City, Rowe had always been secretly fascinated by the darkness, and soon became obsessed with the story and with Francois. She was consumed with the desire to understand just how a man could abduct and strangle eight women—and how a family could live for two years, seemingly unaware, in a house with the victims’ rotting corpses. She also hoped to uncover what humanity, if any, a murderer could maintain in the wake of such monstrous evil.

Reaching out after Francois was arrested, Rowe and the serial killer began a dizzying four-year conversation about cruelty, compassion, and control; an unusual and provocative relationship that would eventually lead her to the abyss, forcing her to clearly see herself and her own past—and why she was drawn to danger.

The Possessions by Sara Flannery Murphy

Release Date: 02/07/2017

This mysterious novel is sure to be a page turner!

Synopsis: 

In this electrifying literary debut, a young woman who channels the dead for a living crosses a dangerous line when she falls in love with one of her clients, whose wife died under mysterious circumstances.

In an unnamed city, Eurydice works for the Elysian Society, a private service that allows grieving clients to reconnect with lost loved ones. She and her fellow workers, known as “bodies”, wear the discarded belongings of the dead and swallow pills called lotuses to summon their spirits—numbing their own minds and losing themselves in the process. Edie has been a body at the Elysian Society for five years, an unusual record. Her success is the result of careful detachment: she seeks refuge in the lotuses’ anesthetic effects and distances herself from making personal connections with her clients.

But when Edie channels Sylvia, the dead wife of recent widower Patrick Braddock, she becomes obsessed with the glamorous couple. Despite the murky circumstances surrounding Sylvia’s drowning, Edie breaks her own rules and pursues Patrick, moving deeper into his life and summoning Sylvia outside the Elysian Society’s walls.

After years of hiding beneath the lotuses’ dulling effect, Edie discovers that the lines between her own desires and those of Sylvia have begun to blur, and takes increasing risks to keep Patrick within her grasp. Suddenly, she finds her quiet life unraveling as she grapples not only with Sylvia’s growing influence and the questions surrounding her death, but with her own long-buried secrets.

new winter book releases HarperCollins

A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline

Release Date: 02/21/2017

I can’t wait to start reading this new book from the author of Orphan Train.

Synopsis:

To Christina Olson, the entire world was her family’s remote farm in the small coastal town of Cushing, Maine. Born in the home her family had lived in for generations, and increasingly incapacitated by illness, Christina seemed destined for a small life. Instead, for more than twenty years, she was host and inspiration for the artist Andrew Wyeth, and became the subject of one of the best known American paintings of the twentieth century.

Perfect Remains by Helen Fields

Release Date: 03/14/2017

This is the first book in a new crime series. This book is suspensful and full of twists and turns.

Synopsis:

On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing.In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness.

Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care.It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes . The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.

The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.

new winter book releases HarperCollins

I’d love to know, which of the above titles most interests you What will you be reading next?

Disclosure: HarperCollins sent me copies of these books for this feature. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

22 Comments

  1. I love books and am an avid reader, you’ll seldom see me without a book in one hand and a coffee in the other 🙂

  2. I am looking forward to reading the Spider And The Fly because I am so intrigued by true crime stories and seek for answers to the hows and whys although often there are none to be had.

  3. I love books reviews to help me know what to read next, thanks! I have a historical romance that’s on my list to read right now.

  4. I’m going to find “We Were on a Break” on your advice and when I’m at the book store I’ll buy a few more romances. Thanks

  5. There’s nothing like getting lost in a good book when it’s storming outside and I’m all snuggled up with a hot cuppa. Thanks for sharing, these are some good possibilities.

  6. I am really looking forward to reading The Spider and the Fly,i like true crime books because they are so suspenseful. This is the first time hearing of this author,i usually read Ann Rule .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *